Let’s Hear It For The Boy

April 18, 2008

 

‘S Big Sam! K-Lizzle asked me to do an intelligent post. But really, I’d rather do a post on someone who’s more intelligent than me. This is Sam Beckett, obv. His favourite novel was Fontane’s Effi Briest:

 

This is an image of the DVD version. I picked it because of the excellent moustache that young man is rocking. Effi Briest is essentially a more likable Madame Bovary. She also has some very very good outfits:

Effi was wearing a blue and white striped linen dress that would have been a straight tunic had it not been drawn in at the waist by a tight, bronze-coloured leather belt; the neck was open and a broad sailor’s collar went over her shoulders and down her back.

Wowza!

Effi Briest are also a very good band with very good clothes from Brooklyn. They are playing toooonniiighht in Thomas Read’s. They sound as if Siouxie and the Banshees met Natasha Khan one day while they were walking through a forest of cowbells and handclaps. Go go go go go go see.

I think that Sam B.’d approve.

 

ailbhe

 

2 Responses to “Let’s Hear It For The Boy”

  1. niamhoh said

    you weren’t at effi briest??

  2. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    Nopes.I’d lost my voice. And all my money. Crystal Castles tonight?

Comments are closed.

