Bring It All Back to You

August 28, 2008


M.I.A. is no longer M.I.A. (That was a clever, and unexpected turn of phrase, I know.) Her song Paper Planes was used in the trailer for the new Seth Rogen vehicle ‘Pineapple Express’, and has consequently fired her little legging-ed self into the hearts of mainstream America.

Says she to Entertainment Weekly

As an artist you want to play around with mediums and see if you can get the point across in a different way. I wanted to stay an outsider and prolong the process of getting accepted.

When you performed at Bonnaroo this year, you said it was going to be your last ever show. Did you mean it?

Well, it was my last ever show. And it still is. I stopped touring after that and I didn’t want to make music again. I was quite happy to just leave it all behind. I was happy with what I had achieved. Now, with the success of “Paper Planes,” there’s pull for me to make another record. Even my mum believes in me more [laughs]. It’s a nice encouragement. But I was planning my life as a fishing woman on the outskirts of Cambodia. That’s a joke.

Does that mean that her clothing line is going to be shunted to the side?

One Response to “Bring It All Back to You”

  1. […] Bluebirds are so Natural Related Posts […]

Comments are closed.

