It Ain’t What You Do It’s The Way That You Do It

September 9, 2008

Seeing as this is our 100th post, I thought it ought to be something at least vaguely well-argued. It won’t be. Apologies. I was talking to a friend of mine recently about the difference between style and fashion. My argument went like this: For me, fashion is just clothes. Anyone can be fashionable, it’s just a case of shopping in the right stores. Style, however, is how you wear the damn things. A pair of jeans and a t-shirt can go horribly wrong:

or terribly right:

He then asked me to describe me own views on fashion. ‘Ailbhe’, says he, ‘what’s in at the moment?’
I thought, and came up with : stripes, tartan, folksy, grungey, goth. Then he says this- ‘So, would you follow any of those trends?’. Consciously no, I wouldn’t. But, then I looked down at what I was wearing- a striped sailor dress with a moss green jumper and a tartan scarf. Stripes- check. Folksy- check. Tartan- check (pun unintended).

It’s difficult to explain really. I don’t follow fashion, but I do. Earlier on that day, the same friend asked me to describe my style. The best that I could come up (albeit a few days late) with was ‘A student in Paris 1968 who has landed in the 80’s.’ Even then though, that’s not entirely accurate. I hate the idea of categorizing what I wear, because then I’ll feel the need to wear only things that fit into that category. In the same way, I never do ‘What I Wore Today’ posts, because it makes it seem as if I have a concrete way of dressing, as it were.

That’s not to say that I don’t wear the same thing a lot. I do. I’m seldom seen without some kind of belt and/or scarf, and generally, I wear tops tucked into waistbands-

This is all liable to change though, and it probably- most definitely- will. Alls I’m trying to say here, is that while I may wear clothes that are in fashion, I never consciously try to be fashion-able. I’d rather wear something that fits me, and that suits me, than whatever Vice or Pop are lauding. At the same time though, if I like a style, and it’s currently in vogue, I’m not going to say no just because the masses like it.

I mean, as Yves said-
Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.

Happy 100th Post, one and all.

xxxx
Ailbhe

7 Responses to “It Ain’t What You Do It’s The Way That You Do It”

  1. unarocks said

    happy 100th!

  2. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    ohhh thank you dearly!

    isn’t the president supposed to shake your hand or something when you get to a hundred years old? i never knew if that was true. ohhh Maryyyyy…….

  3. Greenofeye said

    Congrats on your 100th!!! Here’s to many hundreds more! Love bban 🙂

  4. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    indeed and thank yooou!

  5. Ailbhe said

    My mum read this post just there and said it was rambly.

    That said, my mum often posts comments on this blog pretending to be George, our puppy. So really, I’m going to take that with a pinch of salt.

  6. missmilki said

    Rambly is good! Especially this ramble – you’re so right. Sometimes i feel like that…actually at the moment I’m having a fashion identity crisis because I feel like i’ve fallin into a rut of wearing girly pretty clothes – I don’t want to get trapped in one style. I’ll have to break out of it again!

  7. Rummy said

    i quite agree with you my dear. i’d rather have style than be fashionable, and i’d hate it if someone could sum me up in a handy category. bravo.

Comments are closed.

