Los Angeles Calling

October 5, 2008

BAM i’m back. Yes go on…welcome me…with open arms yes…little wider…wider…that’s better. I feel the need to return with a BANG…a BLAST even. Blast from the past, perhaps?

I always find it unnerving the way music can have the ability to transport you back to a certain time or place in your life. It can leave you feeling bewildered and unprepared to deal with the emotions and memories it drags from somewhere deep in your mind. There is one band that causes this reaction in me more than any other. Let’s take some time to appreciate the most under-appreciated band in the history of music, The Calling. I’d like to think that they are everybody’s guilty pleasure but truth is, most can probably safely and honestly say that, in their opinion, The Calling are not their cup of tea, coffee, or whatever varierty of hot drink it is that gets them off. I’m on a quest to find someone who feels the same way about them as I do. I devoted more of my earspace to their debut album Camino Palmero back in 2001 than I have to any other album to date, so much so that I have become preoccupied with the notion that every song written ever since sounds just like one of theirs. It takes one identical note in any song and I will launch into my account of the facts that led to the downfall of The Calling from the chart throne which, in a nutshell, is that every other musician was sooo jealous of Alex Band & Co’s super amazing talent that they sabotaged them and took apart their songs with a fine-toothed comb and proceeded to share the little snippets of musical genius amongst themselves. Yeah, true story. Or perhaps their second album ‘Two’ was really really really bad (guffaw, as if). I wouldn’t know as I…eh…didn’t listen to it once. So all you Calling fan(s), speak up, we are soulmates you see. We have lots of lost time to make up for. Perhaps we could be penpals.

Youtube embedding is ‘disabled by request’ on all of The Calling’s videos. Not happy. As a result, I really shouldn’t do the right thing and mention that lead singer, Alex Band, is pursuing a solo career and has been honoured with a place on the soundtrack for Bratz: The Movie, but I’m just nice like that.

If you’re wondering who or what occupied second place in my earspace rankings it was this absolute TUNE that featured on a TV Hits compilation tape from heaven.

Now excuse me, I have some colouring-in to be catching up on.

katie-lilga

p.s. Don’t forget to click on the link in the post below to see Ailbhe transported through the power of the internet to the world of Amelia’s magazine. I give her an A+. Amazing Ameliated Ailbhe.

2 Responses to “Los Angeles Calling”

  1. Tom said

    Is that the same “The Calling” who wrote “from up high or down low, I’ll go wherever you will go”. That was pretty damn naff. My guilty pleasures are pretty bad too.

    Phil Collins… need I say more?

  2. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    yes tom, that’s the very one. loud and proud.

Comments are closed.

