Your Love Keeps Lifting Me Higher

January 20, 2009

It’s my own fault. I Googled myself. Proper Googling. And 4 pages in, I didn’t like what I found. I suppose in almost 2 years of writing part/full-time, I’ve been lucky not to get too many negative responses- unlike poor Úna. Still, it’s upsetting when an last-minute awkward awkward AWKWARD live interview you do as a favour to a friend gets slated as the most god-awful interview I’ve ever had the discomfort of watching. Fair enough, it was pretty terrible, and girl knows her shiz. I’m not one to be dwelling on blog comments, but it’s not the first time a sly dig’s been sent round my way.

S’pose I’ll have to up my game, eh? Onwards and upwards.

Ailbhe

edit:

yes, thank you.

13 Responses to “Your Love Keeps Lifting Me Higher”

  1. unarocks said

    Don’t take any notice dude, seriously. Not giving a fuck about what people think of you is the only way to maintain honesty and not be influenced by what other’s think.

    And even when you do fuck up, everyone has bad days!

  2. Well said Una.

    And fair play to you Ailbhe, you’re taking the criticism like a grown up.

    I say, keep on truckin’, you’re only bleedin’ deadly.

  3. You are fuckin deadly and I fel like a RIGHT CUNT after. mega soz😦

  4. Kat said

    Hey missy, pay no heed to the haters. I totally heart your blog and the whole DIY ethos of Rough Gem. Una M is also very talented. Both of you have a fresh, unique writing style. Your stuff for Analogue is always great and Una’s page is the best thing about the Tribune mag. Fact. Google-ing oneself is akin to walking into a room full of people who think you’re shit – scary and best avoided.

    Please keep up the good work ladies xx

  5. Lyndsay said

    To quote Kevin G from Mean Girls, don’t let the haters stop you from doing yo thang

    x

    ps – congrats on your nominations!

  6. adam said

    Yeah, don’t worry about being slated or anything. That’s the beauty of putting your shit out there; people will have opinions on it, good or bad.
    Just learn from any mistakes in the past and try to better yourself in the future. That’s what I try and do anyway. I reviewed a Deerhunter gig last year at some stage and was fairly pissed, forgot all the songs and made loads of mistakes in my review which someone pointed out. Shit happens in musicland, don’t fret about it.

  7. Darragh said

    I got some hardcore hating for comments I made on Una’s blog when I was ferociously drunk after a night out. At first, it really bothered me, then I realized that these things are all ripples on a pond that soon disappear in people’s minds. Unless of course you google yourself and come face to face with summat nasty 4 pages in!

  8. people just like being mean, esp online. not worth your time or energy
    x

  9. unarocks said

    Oh, and for haters: Never say anything online that you wouldn’t say to someone’s face. That’s my rule (although I sometimes break it because, let’s face it, we can all be a bit of a bitch.)

    I know one of the joys of the Internet is that you get to rant and rave, sometimes anonymously, sometimes not, but if your target subject happens to be a person, think of the reprecussions that has. Think about how you would like to be treated, and don’t just go off on one for the sake of it or to be funny or bitter or something, because some day, your target who you probably don’t give a fuck about, or even know, might come across what you said on a bad day and it might hurt. And that’s not cool.

    I think people who hate online and insult people they know nothing about are completely sad, and would never be able to take the criticism if it was the other way around. I also think you’re entitled to fight back and tell them to go fuck themselves, just to shut them up and tell them where to go, not because they are worth it. I also think it is POINTLESS to take any insult someone throws at you online to heart, because it is either made my (a) a kid who knows nothing, (b) out of jealousy, (c) by someone whose opinion isn’t worth a fuck.

    I also think people who spout hate online probably aren’t getting as many hugs as they should be on a daily basis.

    In this case, I think it’s cool that you got an apology, and I think it’s easy to rant, but harder to take rants back, so I think that’s a brave and nice thing to do.

    Of course, if you don’t give a fuck, then nothing hurts, and you just use the hateration to reenforce and even fuel your ego until you turn into a giant bullet repelling steel neon transformer blog comment crusher. Like me!

    x

  10. Layla said

    harsh as fuck and totally an internet anonymity bullshit thing. the fuckers can fuck off.

    you’re rad.

  11. megan nolan said

    Fuck da haterz Ailbhe, you run dem streetz!

    I was heckled during one of our early YOM gigs in Kennedys and it was one of the best ones, because I got so mad I was all full of adrenaline. a

  12. Ailbhe said

    YOUAREALLSOLOVELY I LOVE YOU ALL VERY MUCH.X XXX

  13. Only saw this thread now…

    Ailbhe – don’t EVER pay attention to the haters.

    Just throw Oscar Wilde back at them: “The only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about”

    x

Comments are closed.

