Oh, I Bet You’re Wondering How I Knew

February 21, 2009

Following on from Jim’s thread about music documentaries, BBC Four are currently showing the smashingsuperextraWONDERFUL ‘Standing in the Shadows of Motown’. It’s an award-winning documentary about the Funk Brothers– a group of musicians who played the backing to most of the Motown records. I don’t like saying ‘played the backing’ though, because really, that undermines what a spectacular group of individuals they were. Here, they talk about creating the intro to my favourite song in the whole wide many-oceaned world:

The documentary is spliced with footage from a 2002 concert, with cameos from Chaka Khan, Joan Osbourne, Bootsy Collins and Ben Harper.

You can buy the soundtrack, the dvd, and the book it’s based on here, or if you’re a lucky BBC iplayer person, you can watch it here. If not, BBC 4 are showing it again at 2am tonight. Well worth staying up for.

Does anyone mind if we close this post with a little bit of Marvin? The video’s a bit industrial, but it’s the only one I could find that had the tambourine intro. That intro breaks my heart right in two, every single time.

x
Ailbhe

8 Responses to “Oh, I Bet You’re Wondering How I Knew”

  1. thanks for the comment guys. how did the battle of the bloggers go? post the playlist please!

  2. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    It went great. We had a fab fab time. The playlist, alas, is lost to the ages. We weren’t really watching what we were doing…a

  3. You should come down to my dj sets on Saturday nights in the Clarendon. I play Northern Soul, Tamala Motown and 60’s Beat from 9pm-1am. Tis a nice little place🙂

  4. yo ailbhe – big thanks for the Step Up to the Streets OST CD! Ideal soundtrack for driving around in a toyota thinking you’re actually driving some pimped-out ride in Long Beach, CA or somewhere.

  5. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    Or for cycling around town on a bike, thinking that I too could totally dance crunk if I felt like it. xa

  6. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    And, FYI, Step Up 2: The Streets, is set in Baltimore, Maryland.

  7. And, FYI, Step Up 2: The Streets, is set in Baltimore, Maryland.

    Aha! Sorry ailbhe, your handwriting is as bad as mine😉

  8. bluebirdsaresonatural said

    East Coast/West Coast. Rookie mistake.

Comments are closed.

